The significance of python’s lambda function

For some time I was unable to figure out what in the world is “lambda” function in python. Off course, I referred to the official documentation but it did not help much. Not that I am saying its poorly written.. It is very well written but you see the problem here is that I needed an easy explanation that my grey cells could easily catch.

So anyway, I have now understood it and I briefly explain it in case I need to refer it back again. I can always check it in here.

In a single line definition these are quick dirty functions. Meaning if you are too tired of writing a full function definition like


> def heart_beat (pulse):
         return pulse*100
> doctor=heart_beat(20)
> print doctor # Result

But if you were to use the lambda function, you would not need to define and name the function as above. It could have rather been done as follows

> doctor = lambda heart_beat: heart_beat * 100
> doctor # Result will be printed on screen
> doctor (20)
> #Result
